image

 

It doesn’t take long to make and eat a simple breakfast of eggs and vegetables. But how many days of the week do we actually do something like this for ourselves?  If you say “nearly every day”, yay for you! I’ve made these kinds of breakfasts many, many days of my life. And, back in the canyon, by the time I left, Rhiannon was very good at whipping up wonderful egg and veggie breakfasts for all of us. So when Monica made us this one, it was a very warm, familiar feeling, to be cooked for with love and attention!

The very first time I saw Monica enter our kitchen, I immediately recognized her as a kindred spirit. So, when just one week later, Jessica mentioned to all of us that she (M.) was interested in moving into “The Closet” (really, it’s just a very small room, but it does happen to be connected to a larger room, enhancing the ‘closet’ effect), I was extremely supportive of the idea. I tell Monica that living with her is kind of like having a much younger twin sister around, who has a lot more natural ability to focus on things than I do! Call it coincidence, but she does happen to be a Virgo. She’d been living in our house less than a week when she’d already organized and labeled most of the shelves and drawers in the kitchen, and created a place she calls the “Fermentation Station”.

Not only do Monica and I dance and sing and dress very similarly, we also love to eat almost all the same things. She’s a little more fussy than I am, which amuses me, and makes a very similar “I’m annoyed but I’m trying not to be quite-so” face when the lighting or the music in the kitchen or the living room at mealtimes seems less than ideal. Which, of course, also amuses me greatly.

Here’s a breakfast dish she made for me here at 130 Orange Avenue, with the most beautiful eggs I’d ever eaten, fresh from her friend Dakota’s chickens. I told her, “this is just like something I would make for myself!” Except, I doubt I would have ever thought to put molasses in a tahini sauce. She got this great idea from a friend from Jerusalem.

Eggs and Greens and Beets by Monica

This is a great thing to do with the dandelion greens that are sprouting up everywhere here in Oregon right now! The sweetness of the beets and of the dressing helps to balance out the bitterness of the greens.

1 large very fresh beet

1 small bunch dandelion or chicory greens

1 bunch dinosaur kale

balsamic vinegar, and some great oil

tahini

molasses

salt

sautéed garlic

apple cider vinegar

really good eggs

Peel and grate the beet. Wash and chop the chicory or dandelion greens finely, and toss them with salt, black pepper, one teaspoon of balsamic vinegar and two of your favorite oil ( we used Fir Oil I made this winter, method coming to you soon!)  Steam the kale almost tender to your liking and keep it hot, preferably in a heavy pan, under a tight-fitting lid. By the time you’re finished making the eggs, the kale will probably be perfect.

Monica likes to fry her eggs sunny side up, which makes the color of the yolks stand out so much more than how I usually make them, over easy. Her trick is to cook them somewhat slowly, but not too much so, so that whites cook properly without overcooking the yolks. I haven’t mastered her method yet, but I’m working on it.

The tahini sauce is so good you may find yourself, as we did, using your fingers to get every last bit out of whatever little vessel you made it in.

For the tahini sauce,

Mix 1-2 tablespoons blackstrap molasses into 1/2 cup tahini, and mix in 1-2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar. Mix in 1/2 teaspoon salt and add more to taste if you wish.

I’m willing to bet that cooking something like this in the morning highly increases your chances of truly receiving all the blessings of the day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

